About Kate

 

Hello, my name is Kate Jenks Landry

If you are reading this, you probably already know me. If so, hi! I am so sorry I have forgotten to call/text/visit for so long. I miss you. If by some chance we haven't already met, well, I hope you find something here that is at least mildly interesting to you. I am warning you up front, there are going to be lots of pictures of my kids. If you find that sort of thing distasteful, you should probably leave. If not, welcome! Let me tell you a little more about myself. 

Hi! My name is Kate. Some people call me Katy. I grew up in a smallish town in Southern Ontario. After spending my twenties in Toronto and Seattle, I now live in a smallish city of Kitchener, Ontario. 

In recent years, I have spent most of my time mothering my two small girlies, Zoe Penelope and Mae Josephine. It is a magical job that is also exhausting and even excruciating. I never planned on being a stay at home mom, but for now it is what works best for our family. Aside from me and the little chickens, our family also includes Michael, an amazing guy who has been my best friend and partner for nearly half my life. He is the smartest person I know, and the best dad on the planet.

I have a hilarious number of hobbies and interests. I am an expert at none of them, enthusiastic about all of them. My adventures in food and eating are perhaps what I am best known for, but I also love design and literature. My mom is patiently teaching me to sew and garden. I am not an artist, but I secretly hoard art supplies and experiment with them in my work room. 

Here is a random list of things I love:

Coffee, design and food blogs, children's literature, TV, Canadian poetry, stationary supplies, houseplants, inter-sectional feminism, grocery shopping, cookbooks, fabric stores, gallery walls, TV, my pantry, Global knives, and going to the movies, vintage cookware, and TV. Did I mention TV?

I watch way too much TV. I am a terrible (I mean it) speller. I can not drive. When I was 7 my younger brother died of cancer. I am not really sure what I want to do with my life. Being an adult sucks a great deal of the time. 

Iā€™m a lot of different things: Mom, wife, writer, teacher, feminist, eater, cook, design enthusiast, textile lover, concerned citizen of Earth. Lately I have been interested in trying to better understand how all of the fractured bits of my identities and interests fit together. This space is intended to be a sort of online workshop and archive for that project. I have no idea where I will end up, but you are more than welcome to come along for the ride.

 
Write it. Shoot it. Publish it. Crochet it, saute it, whatever. MAKE.
— Joss Whedon